Learning How to Blog Part 3

Learning How to Blog-2

Last month I discuss what I learned, accomplished and what I still needed to do for my blog.

Y’all, this is sloooow going. An hour a week makes for slow success. But I’m chipping away each week. I’ve heard it said (where I don’t know…and I’ll probably get the quote wrong…I don’t have the energy to look it up) that the biggest part of success is showing up. Well that’s what I’m doing every Tuesday night. Go me!

If you’ve been paying attention you’ll see that I changed the name of this series to Learning How to Blog. Seemed more “searchable”. And so this leads me too….

Things I’ve done/learned:

Watch Tutorials

I’ve watched a couple of videos but Nick Foy seems the most useful for where I am right now. When I say I’m a beginner, I mean BEGINNER. He has a tutorial video that goes over all the basics. I haven’t watched the whole thing so still haven’t gotten to that dreaded menu. But I’m working my way in. And in the meantime, slowly but surely, understanding WordPress a little bit better.

 

Discovering Canva

I’m so proud of my images from my last post. I did these with canva.com This site has helped me add some color and more “pinnable” images. I still want to spruce up my site, but this was a really fun starting place.

Understand my mission

I think it’s safe to say that my mission statement for my blog won’t be fully complete until I launch my own domain. And even then I’m sure it’ll be tweaked. I’ve been spending time doing walking prayers during my lunch breaks….aaaa nature and Jesus. My happy place. I realize that He put this desire in my heart for a reason. Since I was a little girl I wanted to a)be a wife…check! b)be a mom…check! c) stay home with my son…. d)have a creative career…semi check (home visiting and parent education requires a lot of creativity. But I’m looking more along the lines of writing)  I’ll write more on the desires of my heart and how Jesus comes into this blogosphere later. But for now…what has come from my prayer walks, is that this blog will be about real life. It’s funny, it’s weird, it’s boring, it’s not always pretty. And within that life we need to prioritize relationships…with God, ourselves and our people. I’m sure on another walking prayer I’ll come up with a nice catchy tagline!

Still to do:

  1. add (more) color
  2. menus….help me out Nick Foy!
  3. social media schedule

What new thing have you learned lately that has made blogging more successful for you?

Check out my other posts in this series here and here

 

2 thoughts on “Learning How to Blog Part 3

Leave a Reply

